Saturday, January 15, 2011

Thinking about E6 and E8 again.

This variant is basically D&D that stops at L6 or L8 respectively and makes all future advancement after that in the form of feats at every 5000k XP.

It adds verisimilitude and grit to the game without changing the rules in any significant way and as you can guess I really like it.

However it can be difficult to explain the power curve to people at times.

Here is how I do it

L1 Ordinary Folks

L2 Skilled Folks

L3 Highly Skilled Folks, S.W.A.T. Teams that kind of thing

L4 Low Grade Hero Types (Hero in the old level titles) and Experienced Highly Skilled Folks

L5 Elite Types Navy S.E.A.L.S Green Berets, Cinematic Movie Cops, World Class Atheletes

L6 The Very Best, Near Super Humans, Bruce Lee etc

L7,L8 Low Powered Supers

Characters are differentiated within these bands by stats and if PC material action points , so while a Navy S.E.A.L. And Martin Riggs from Lethal Weapon (or his fantasy counterpart) may be both 5th level,the S.E.A.L. uses the Elite Array,Riggs has different stats and action points. Got it? Good

No comments:

Post a Comment